Closet Analysis & Gratitude

Today, I got out all of my clothes and made a list of everything I own.  Now I’m exhausted.

But now I have counts and descriptions of what I’ve got and that’s valuable information.  Did I tell you that I work as a data analyst?  (It’s about to become obvious.)

First, I got everything out and put it in a huge pile.  Chaos.

IMGP0355

Then I started sorting things into general categories:  tops, bottoms, dresses, shoes, and outerwear.  Still massive piles, but a little less chaos.

I had already started making notes about my closet as a whole.

Note 1:  I like color and lots of print.

IMGP0359

 

Note 2:  Just judging by the relative pile size, I have way more tops than pants or skirts.  I love a good pair of jeans, but I’ll have one nice pair of jeans at a time.  Then I’ll wear them until they have to be retired.

Note 3:  If pieces are neutral, then I go for texture.

IMGP0374

Once I sorted everything into general categories, I tackled each one separately and started making detailed lists.  For example, my dresses list has categories like “denim”, “black-based print”, “fit & flare”, etc.  I wrote down how many were in each theme, then totaled them all up.  This is where I got surprised – even though my closet is colorful as a whole, the most common color in each category is black.  That surprised me, but it’s fantastic to know.  I don’t need to buy another black t-shirt.  I have plenty.

The detailed list was the most daunting part of this whole process, but it was also the most revealing.  I have a really good idea of what clothes I’ve accumulated since high school now.

I got two major blessings out of this process.

  • Blessing 1:  Everything is organized and I can shut my dresser drawers now.  HURRAH.
  • Blessing 2:  Gratitude.  I have been given the love of clothes and I have clothes to love.  There are prints and colors and textures and every single thing shows me where I’ve been and reminds me of my past.  Clothes are memories and I have some great ones.

I found this a really helpful exercise – I’d recommend it if you’re not sure what’s lurking in your closet.  If you don’t have time to do the whole thing, you could tackle one drawer at a time.  It’s archaeology – you’ll rediscover clothes you love and it will give you a fresh perspective on what you have.  Let me know if you end up trying it!

IMGP0379

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Closet Analysis & Gratitude

  1. I loved this, Gratitude changes everything. I thought it was interesting that you enjoy texture. I went through my clothes and I like color too!
    I realized I am low on dresses, since I am wearing long ones during the summer months. So an inventory was helpful. Thanks! Ashley.
    Love, Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

